Homeland Security Program

Who We Are

The Homeland Security program provides communities with technical assistance in planning for emergency preparedness by identifying potential safety threats and security weaknesses and by developing local emergency management plans to meet those identified needs. The Homeland Security program encourages efficiency by assisting jurisdictions in administering federal and state programs that benefit from regional cooperation.


AACOG Homeland Security provides guidance, coordination, development and implementation of programs pertaining to emergency management, law enforcement, medical services, and fire services. Some of the many programs include maintaining the Regional Homeland Security Strategic Plan (HSSP) Implementation Plan, overseeing regional the regional mutual aid agreement, and maintaining the Alamo Area Regional Intelligence/Information Sharing (AARIIS) Network. These programs are dedicated to supporting the Alamo region's first responders by increasing coordination and planning efforts across jurisdictions.

Service Area

There are 13 counties in the Alamo Region: Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, McMullen, Medina and Wilson counties. Together, these jurisdictions cover 12,582 square miles of the State of Texas.

To request to receive information from the Homeland Security Staff on trainings, meetings, and funding opportunities related to public safety, please complete the survey below.

Homeland Security Mailing List Form

  1. Counties Served:*
  2. Discipline:*
  3. Leave This Blank:

  4. This field is not part of the form submission.